I've been at my job four months now. I love it. I haven't been this happy at a job in a very long time. I love what I do, I love my co-workers...ok, I don't love some of our patrons, but they always keep me entertained and full of stories. Some of the best ones so far:
I sneezed at work last night. My allergies are horrible this year, so I sniffle from time to time. A regular patron hands me a tissue. I stare at it, blankly. "Are you getting a cold?!" No, I assure her. Just allergies. "There aren't allergies in the Fall!" Um, ok. I didn't know you were medically trained. Maybe I should call her Dr. Patron?
A lot of these: "I'm trying to print and it's not working! It must be broken." I walk over...put the money in...it works! Just call me a miracle worker.
Patron I don't know approaches the desk. Me: May I help you? Patron: No. I like her better. *Points at co-worker*
Patron asks for help with his resume. I explain typing in his past job history. "But I've never had any jobs!"
I think the most common occurrence is patrons who don't have a library card. Not only do they lack a card, but any kind of i.d. It seems strange to go out without any identification on you (I think of it as someone being able to i.d. my body, but you know...other reasons too) but it happens. Every. Day. When I sweetly suggest they sign up for a library card (it's free!) they act as if I'm suggesting they sign up to swim with sharks. Or go cliff diving. Whatever. I can't get over what the fear is.
And so it goes. It's all a learning experience, and I'm grateful I have this job.
My semester started a few weeks ago. I'm taking Materials for Youth, which I love. I'm reading children's books and talking about them with my classmates. How can I not love it?
My other class is Collection Development. It's an interesting class, but the professor has us do most of the work independently. There are no discussion questions. Our project for the class, which we do in a few parts, is to come up with our own collection development plan for a fictional library. I chose to focus on YA graphic novels and manga. Oh, and our professor just left the class. Yup. She got a new job and couldn't continue with the semester. Does that happen often???
The spring semester schedule already came out, and I have to register in a few weeks. I already know what I'm going to take, so it isn't too difficult. It's going by very quickly!
Oh, and this week is one of my favorites of all time-Banned Books Week! Everyone should celebrate by picking up a banned or challenged book. It could be The Lorax or Harry Potter or Catcher in the Rye. Let's celebrate the freedom to read and laugh at the people who embarrass themselves by showing off their close-mindedness.

